Maximizing the Message: Using Social Media to Expand Your National Mentoring Month Outreach

A "MENTOR MINUTE" from MENTOR/The National Mentoring Partnership:

December 18, 2012: Reserve your seat for the Thursday, December 20, webinar titled Maximizing the Message: Using Social Media to Expand Your National Mentoring Month Outreach at 1 p.m. Eastern/noon Central/11 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific.

With National Mentoring Month around the corner, this webinar will give youth-serving organizations information on how to increase visibility, recruit mentors and find more supporters by customizing and effectively using existing messaging and materials with social media.

Panelists will include the Director of Marketing and Communications for The Mentoring Partnership of Southwestern Pennsylvania Kristan Allan and the Deputy Director of the Center for Social Impact Communication at Georgetown University Julie Dixon. Topics will include balancing facts with stories that bring real mentoring to life, perfecting the media pitch and using social media platforms – such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn – to grow support and gain volunteer mentors and donors.

The webinar also will include time for participants to ask questions and to share local successes, challenges and plans to make the most of National Mentoring Month 2013 via various social media outlets.

MENTOR’s Chief Program Officer Tammy Tai said, “MENTOR is excited to support the great work that members of the Collaborative Mentoring Webinar Series have been driving. These monthly webinars address timely topics of importance and interest to the wider field and allow mentoring programs from across the country to learn from others without geography being a barrier or challenge.”

Members of this collaborative webinar group include Education Northwest, Kansas Mentors, Friends for Youth, the Mentoring Partnership of Minnesota, Oregon Mentors, the Indiana Mentoring Partnership, Mobius Mentors, Mentor Michigan, the Mass Mentoring Partnership and the Mentoring Partnership of Southwestern Pennsylvania.

Reserve a seat at this week’s webinar.

To register for the National Mentoring Summit January 24 and 25 in Washington, D.C., visit the Mentoring web site. Anyone registered for the Summit by the close of business Friday, December 21, will be entered into a drawing for a Kindle Ereader. For more information on quality youth mentoring, as well as MENTOR’s network of affiliated Mentoring Partnerships, go to the Mentoring web site.